Tyrian Cuisine: Salad a la Consortium

For a few months now I’ve been reading the wonderful Blog The Guild Wars Chef – a collection of recipes fashioned after those found in the Chef discipline in Guild Wars 2. It’s a wonderful idea and makes for a growing collection of new ideas for dinner!

I really love the crafting system in Guild Wars 2 – it was the one thing I repetitively wished to have in Guild Wars 1, and I was extremely happy when they announced it. Now I am also one of those people who run off the track screaming “Strawberries!!”, and I usually check in at the cooking (or weaponsmith) station first after a completed mission.

As it turns out, I may be a nerd, but I don’t live off frozen pizza and crisps only. (Sometimes I do, though.) I actually really love to cook. So today I thought I’d do what the GW Chef does and post one of the recipes I tried in real life. You know, to eat! 😉

Apparently when this new “mercantile corporation” was introduced to Lion’s Arch, they brought their own food with them! Lucky for us chefs, since this is really easy to make and tastes great.

You need:

Small head of lettuce
Bag of fresh Spinach leaves
Around 70g of Walnut Cores
Oil
Vinegar
Passion Fruit Juice
A thumb of fresh ginger
Some Dill
Salt & Pepper

 

I don’t include specific measurements on purpose here, since I always cook based on guessing / tasting. That may sound hard at first, but trust me, you develop a sense for it after a time.

Wash the salad and the spinach leaves. I suggest cutting the stems off the spinach, but if you like to nibble on them, feel free to leave them. Pick your biggest salad bowl and fill it half with spinach and half with salad.

Mix 3 to 4 tablespoons of Oil with the same amount of vinegar in a small cup or bowl. Stir rapidly until it blends.Add half a teaspoon of salt & sprinkle on some pepper. Usually I like some sugar in my dressings, but sweetening will be covered by the passion fruit juice this time: Add about as much juice as Oil & vinegar together, then give it a taste. I added more juice until I liked the taste.

Peel the ginger and grate it into the mix. Sprinkle on some Dill. Stir the dressing and pour over the salad. Mix until all the salad is covered in dressing. Serve and add Walnut Cores on top – Done!

Thanks to Mina for inspiring me to start this! I already tried out one of her recipes before and it turned out really good, too. I may do some more of this in the future. And since I finally reached Chef Lvl 300, I’ve definitely got enough recipes to inspire me. 🙂

One thought on “Tyrian Cuisine: Salad a la Consortium

  1. Hmmm, it seems so delicious! And healthy, which is always a good bonus 😉 I think the passion fruit makes this salad ideal for this time of year now that the weather is (slowly, so slowly) getting warmer.

Leave a Reply

